Diva Dirt Writers’ Choice Awards 2012: Knockout of the Year – Gail Kim

Diva Dirt presents its second annual Writers’ Choice Awards, the awards that celebrate the year in women’s wrestling, as decided by the editors and contributors of Diva Dirt. The Diva Dirt team has watched hundreds of episode of wrestling television this year, as well as hundreds of live events on DVD, additionally, we’ve followed a countless number of wrestlers over the year, and reviewed tons of matches. Now, as we come to the end of 2012, we have picked the best of the best to be awarded our Writers’ Choice blue ribbons.

Knockout of the Year: Gail Kim

gailkimIn 2012, one Knockout anchored TNA’s women’s division with her in-ring ability, her history-making championship reign, and her development as a character.

That Knockout was Gail Kim.

In her first full year back in TNA, after returning to the company in November 2011 following three years in WWE, Gail Kim became the MVP of the Knockouts division, thanks in no small part to her near eight month reign as Knockouts Champion.

Gail held the championship for the first six months of the year, becoming the longest reigning champion in the title’s five year history, overcoming opposition from the likes of Mickie James, Tara, Madison Rayne, Velvet Sky and Brooke Tessmacher in the first five months of 2012. However, in June, Brooke would finally end Gail’s 200+ day reign as champion, but the six month domination was enough to solidify her as the year’s top Knockout.

And while the last six months haven’t been as action-packed for the former champion, she’s certainly had plenty to do, appearing on Impact Wrestling on a consistent basis and putting on great matches with the likes of Mickie James and Brooke Tessmacher.

Returning to TNA with a new vigor, Gail has upped the in-ring quality of the Knockouts division, whether it’s facing a fellow veteran or helping this year’s Most Improved Wrestler, Brooke Tessmacher, continue to shine in the ring.

As well as her presence in the ring, Gail has also developed nicely into a heel character over the course of the year, becoming a well-rounded character as well as a solid wrestler.

More awards:
Most Improved: Brooke Tessmacher
Best Tag Team or Group: Midwest Militia
Best Babyface: AJ Lee
Best Heel: Jessicka Havok
Promotion of the Year: SHINE Wrestling
Best Feud: Brooke Tessmacher vs Tara
Best Breakthrough: AJ Lee
Match of the Year: Gail Kim vs Tara (Against All Odds)
Independent Star of the Year: Jazz

Stay tuned for more Writers’ Choice Awards throughout December.

Editor at Large - Read Profile
  • B1G_FaN

    Gail had the push in TNA that I always wished she would have had in WWE. Too bad no one really watches TNA.

    It all comes down to what do you want more………decent matches and storylines or lots of money and higher tv ratings/more mainstream popularityin what you do, even if you don’t have many long matches or storylines.

  • GailKim95

    Gail freaking Kim! What an amazing year she had! WWE really dropped the ball with her

  • GrrMonster

    As much as I adore Gail Kim (i really do), i really couldn’t get into her push this year, it just seems to much, Tna was playing favorites at the time, and there wasn’t much storyline going into her push. It just seemed to rush to reward Kim for coming back, but at the same time she left them on her own accord, but anyway, i hope that next year, they have some actually good storyline and some new talents.

    congrat gail

  • Johnyfaction3

    Yay for Gail! So my predicition for Diva of the Year for the writers Awards is AJ :/

  • aldo

    Hey WWE, take a look of this!!
    Gail Kim was the top knouckout without a doubt.

  • Clarke

    well deserved award for Gail. Congrats!

  • http://unicornduchess07.tumblr.com hellaciousheart

    2012 should be called the year of Gail Kim! ranked number 1 on PWI top 50, longest reigning KO champion in history, got married this year. All the best to Gail Kim i hope next year will be awesome for her too.