Monday, September 25, 2023

Latest Posts

Aja Kong, more announced for AAA Lucha Libre World Cup

The second annual AAA Lucha Libre World Cup is less than a month away, and the first female competitors have been announced.

The inaugural tournament took place in May 2015 and saw trios of male competitors compete from various corners of the globe. Representatives from the likes of AAA, Lucha Underground, Pro Wrestling NOAH, Ring of Honor and TNA sent competitors with Myzteziz and then AAA stars Alberto Del Rio and Rey Mysterio winning the cup.

A female version of the AAA Lucha Libre World Cup will also take place this year, with two teams announced thus far. Representing AAA will be Faby Apache, Lady Apache and Mary Apache; while only Faby and Mary were announced on the World Cup website, Lady was confirmed in a tweet from the official account – @LuchaWorldCup, as was present at a press conference hyping the event. See below:

In addition to Mexico’s participants, a Team Japan has also been unveiled. Hailing from Japanese promotions Pro Wrestling WAVE and Oz Academy, Team Japan’s trio are Aja Kong, Sumire Natsu and Yuki Miyakazi.

The official website lists teams still to reveal their rosters, and two more female teams are mentioned – USA (Femenil) and Femenil 1. With TNA and Lucha Underground the only USA promotions taking part this year, which will send female talent to make up Team USA?

The AAA Lucha Libre World Cup takes place on June 3rd and 5th, 2016.

Who would you like to see take part in the tournament? List your suggestions in the comments below.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss