Thursday, December 7, 2023

Latest Posts

Diva Dirt Writers’ Choice Awards 2012: Best Breakthrough – AJ Lee

Diva Dirt presents its second annual Writers’ Choice Awards, the awards that celebrate the year in women’s wrestling, as decided by the editors and contributors of Diva Dirt. The Diva Dirt team has watched hundreds of episode of wrestling television this year, as well as hundreds of live events on DVD, additionally, we’ve followed a countless number of wrestlers over the year, and reviewed tons of matches. Now, as we come to the end of 2012, we have picked the best of the best to be awarded our Writers’ Choice blue ribbons.

Best Breakthrough: AJ Lee

aj-leeThere’s breaking through, and then there’s smashing through at 100 miles per hour.

For AJ Lee, and befitting of her character, whose unpredictability means she can change demeanor at the drop of the hat, she certainly did the latter in 2012.

Never in the history of WWE has a Diva — especially one who has been told she’s too small, she’s not buxom enough, she would never make it in the WWE — made such an incredible impact in just one year. Sure, AJ’s been around for a couple of years now, but in 2012, as cliche as it may sound, she truly arrived.

No one could have prepared themselves for the rocket-ship that would be AJ’s ascension to not just the top of the Divas roster, but to the top of the WWE roster. Whether it was an axe to grind with her fellow Divas, or becoming entangled with some of the biggest names in WWE — John Cena, CM Punk and Kane, just to name a few — AJ has well and truly redefined what it means to have a breakthrough.

And thus, there really could be no other choice for this award.

More awards:
Most Improved: Brooke Tessmacher
Best Tag Team or Group: Midwest Militia
Best Babyface: AJ Lee
Best Heel: Jessicka Havok
Promotion of the Year: SHINE Wrestling
Best Feud: Brooke Tessmacher vs Tara

Stay tuned for more Writers’ Choice Awards throughout December.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss