Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Latest Posts

Diva Dirt Writers’ Choice Awards 2012: Match of the Year – Gail Kim vs Tara

Diva Dirt presents its second annual Writers’ Choice Awards, the awards that celebrate the year in women’s wrestling, as decided by the editors and contributors of Diva Dirt. The Diva Dirt team has watched hundreds of episode of wrestling television this year, as well as hundreds of live events on DVD, additionally, we’ve followed a countless number of wrestlers over the year, and reviewed tons of matches. Now, as we come to the end of 2012, we have picked the best of the best to be awarded our Writers’ Choice blue ribbons.

Match of the Year: Gail Kim vs Tara (Against All Odds)


It’s no secret that the Knockouts of Impact Wrestling shine when put into the ring each and every week. But when Tara claimed victory in a triple threat match over Mickie James and Velvet Sky to earn a title shot against Gail Kim, fans were certainly excited at the thought of what these two could do against each other on a pay per view.

They’re not strangers to one another by any means, but adding the element of a match taking place on a show that viewers have to pay in order to witness puts added pressure on anyone to step up their game to new heights. Needless to say, both Gail and Tara took that challenge on with full steam ahead, putting on quite the show for the jam packed Orlando crowd. Tack on the amusement of Madison Rayne screeching back and forth with Kim, and you’ve got the formula for both entertainment and great wrestling mixed into one.

While the bout may have been somewhat forgotten as of late due to how early in the year it took place, hopefully fans can go back and check it out in order to attain why we feel it was at the top of the list when it comes to TV matches contested over the past twelve months, as well as why it further cements that both Tara and Gail are among the best of the best in the business.

More awards:
Most Improved: Brooke Tessmacher
Best Tag Team or Group: Midwest Militia
Best Babyface: AJ Lee
Best Heel: Jessicka Havok
Promotion of the Year: SHINE Wrestling
Best Feud: Brooke Tessmacher vs Tara
Best Breakthrough: AJ Lee

Stay tuned for more Writers’ Choice Awards throughout December.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss