Monday, April 15, 2024

Latest Posts

Sara Del Rey, Mickie James and Beth Phoenix Take Top Honors in Fan Voted Year-End Awards

The people have spoken!

In the 2011 Year-End Awards as voted by you, the Diva Dirt masses, Sara Del Rey, Mickie James and Beth Phoenix walked away with the biggest prizes as Independent Wrestler, Knockout and Diva of the Year respectively.

Of the trio, Del Rey was also selected as Diva Dirt’s Wrestler of the Year, meanwhile, James is two-for-two as the Diva Dirt writers also picked her as Knockout of the Year in the Writers’ Choice Awards. As for Diva of the Year, the fans voted for the current reigning Divas Champion, while the Diva Dirt writers felt that Kelly Kelly had the better year in the Divas division.

Full Writers’ Choice Awards results

In other big awards, even in retirement and injury respectively, Michelle McCool and Layla made a big impact on readers as you voted for them in the Best Feud and Televised Match of the Year categories.

SHIMMER walked away with wins in two of the big independent categories: Independent Match and Independent Promotion of the Year. The SHIMMER Vol. 44 main event featuring Cheerleader Melissa‘s emotionally charged SHIMMER Championship victory over Madison Eagles won the Match of the Year.

In a very WWE-dominated awards, Impact Wrestling’s Brooke Tessmacher was the only other Knockout to make an impression on voters, being selected as Best Breakthrough and Most Improved Wrestler. Elsewhere, in the battle of the television shows, Impact Wrestling proved to be most popular, perhaps telling of fans’ frustrations towards WWE’s current product and lack of time and effort devoted to the WWE Divas.

Finally, as we move ahead to 2012, you voted Maxine as your One to Watch this year.

Full fan voted Year-End Award results here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss