Saturday, September 23, 2023

Latest Posts

Women’s Wrestling Hall Of Fame Launches, First Induction Class Revealed

Documentarian Christopher Annino is helping launch the Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame in conjunction with the International Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame (IPWHF) in Albany, New York.

Speaking to SlamWrestling, Annino revealed that the new institution will include four categories, which includes Olympians, NCAA athletes, and non-wrestlers who have left their mark on the industry.

  • Pioneer: for female wrestling trailblazers who helped pave the way
  • Amateur: for female Olympians and female NCAA athletes who have made a significant contribution to women’s amateur wrestling
  • Professional: for all female professional wrestlers who have made a significant contribution to professional wrestling
  • Non-Wrestling: for non-wrestlers which includes referees, coaches, managers, valets, promoters, executives, broadcasters, journalists, announcers, historians

Headlining the first induction will be former WWE Women’s Champion Jazz, who will enter the new hall during the Icons of Wrestling convention on December 17 at the former ECW Arena. Other 2023 inductees will include:

  • Cora Livingston
  • Mildred Burke
  • Beverly “Hammer” Shade
  • Babs Wingo
  • Marva Scott
  • Ethel Johnson
  • Luna Vachon
  • Toni Rose & Donna Christanello as a tag team
  • Susan “Tex” Green
  • Rita Marie Chatterton
  • The entire GLOW promotion
  • Olympic Gold Medalist Iryna Merleni

While it will largely be a virtual Hall of Fame, there will be physical aspects featured at the IPWHF inside MVP Arena in Albany. SlamWrestling reports that Annino built the website for the Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame, which can be found at this link.

The Hall of Fame is still being established as Annino noted, “we’re fine tuning at this moment.” Funding for the organization is said to be associated with the backers of Annino’s “in-progress women’s wrestling documentary,” as well as grant money.

Co-founding members include Angel Orsini, Susan “Tex” Green, and Gary Wolf. The Board of Directors includes President Chris Bournea, Vice President Candi Capoferri, and Christina Marie, with Richie Sorrentino and Ken Raftery serving as advisory board members.

What do you think about this new Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame? Sound off in the comments below!

Want to own a piece of history? Check out Ring Post Journal’s 2021 Women’s Wrestling Year in Review, available exclusively on Amazon. The collector’s book features stories, results and stats from WWE, AEW, IMPACT, NWA, and more. A portion of proceeds will be donated to National Alliance on Mental Illness in honor of Daffney.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss