Saturday, December 2, 2023

Latest Posts

Knockouts to Participate in TNA’s World Title Series

[media-credit name=”Photo:” align=”aligncenter” width=”620″][/media-credit]

A select group of Knockouts will have a shot at becoming the next TNA World Heavyweight Champion.

In the aftermath of Matt Hardy vacating the championship, TNA has announced a World Title Series, the rules of which are explained in a new press release:

The World Title Series will feature a format very similar to soccer’s World Cup, with thirty-two members of the IMPACT WRESTLING roster competing for the TNA World Championship. The wrestlers will be divided into eight groups to begin round-robin group play. Winners receive three points, a draw receives one point and a loss earns zero points. The top two point-getters from each group will advance to the field of 16 and a single elimination tournament where the competitor who wins advances and the loser goes home. The ultimate winner of the World Title Series will have survived the most grueling test in the history of wrestling and will be crowned the true and undisputed TNA World Champion.

The involvement of the Knockouts was confirmed by TNA President Dixie Carter in a tweet this afternoon:

The matches for this tournament were taped back in July. At the time, it was assumed they were taped for a One Night Only Pay-Per-View.

TNA is revealing the competitors on their official website this afternoon, leading up to the kickoff of the Series on tonight’s episode of Impact.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss