Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Latest Posts

WWE SmackDown Women’s Championship celebrates five years of history

The SmackDown Women’s Championship turned five years old over the weekend as the first champion crowned was Becky Lynch on Sept. 11, 2016.

That inaugural match was a memorable Six-Pack Elimination Challenge where Lynch last eliminated Carmella by submission to become champion. Since then there have been a total of 10 women to hold the championship and a total of 20 reigns between them.

Along with Lynch, the nine other women to have held this gold are Alexa Bliss, Naomi, Natalya, Charlotte Flair, Carmella, Asuka, Bayley, Sasha Banks, and Bianca Belair.

Some highlights over the past five years

Charlotte Flair has the most reigns at five.

Alexa Bliss became the first woman to ever have held both the RAW and SmackDown Women’s Champion Championship. Won title in a Tables Match against Becky Lynch.

Alexa Bliss defended the title in a steel cage against Becky Lynch on SmackDown

Naomi becomes the first Black woman to win the title. Wins the title a second time at WrestleMania in a Six-Pack Challenge.

Becky Lynch became a double champion in the first-ever women’s WrestleMania main event when she defeated Charlotte Flair and Ronda Rousey in a Winners Take All Match.

Sasha Banks vs. Bianca Belair become the first two Black women to wrestle for a title at WrestleMania and in the main event.

Carmella becomes the first woman to cash in the Money in the Bank briefcase.

Asuka becomes the first and currently only Asian woman to win the title and does so in a Triple Threat TLC match.

Bayley has the longest reign with the title.

Has been defended twice in Hell in a Cell. 1. Sasha Banks won the title at this event against Bayley. 2. Bianca Belair retained against Bayley.

Bayley cashed in (on Charlotte Flair) her Money in the Bank contract on the same night she won it to win her first SmackDown Women’s Title.

The title has changed hands three times at WrestleMania (Naomi, Becky Lynch, Bianca Belair)

The title has changed hands three times at SummerSlam (Natalya, Charlotte Flair, Becky Lynch)

WWE put together a video of all the women who have held the belt which you can view below.

What are some of your favorite memories so far in regards to the SmackDown Women’s Championship? Who do you think should become a future champion? Discuss all of your ideas below!

Latest Posts

Don't Miss