Friday, July 19, 2024

Latest Posts

Top 10 women’s wrestling moments of 2019

Sasha Banks and Bayley become the first modern-era WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions

The Boss ‘n’ Hug connection would defeat Peyton Royce and Billie Kay, Fire and Desire Mandy Rose and Sonya Deville, Nia Jax and Tamina, The Riott Squad and Naomi and Carmella inside the 2nd only women’s Elimination Chamber match.

The Women’s Tag Team Championships were long rumoured and in December 2018 WWE unveiled their brand-new titles.

However, this isn’t the first time women’s tag team titles existed in the company. The WWF women’s tag team titles were launched in 1983 when Velvet McIntyre and Princess Victoria signed with the company as NWA Women’s World Tag Team Champions. The titles would be renamed the WWF Women’s Tag Team Championships shortly after. However, due to the lack of women’s tag teams, the titles were retired with the Glamour Girls, Judy Martin and Leilani Kay still champions in 1989.

Bayley and Banks had been strong supporters and advocates of launching a new women’s tag team division so it was only fitting that the long-time friends and under-utilized talents became the first-ever WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss